Awesome. Edifice Maps flaunts its city in bright neon, like the pop-rocks shoes of trendy kids and people who run faster than I do.

Edifice

And it goes a step further to make those maps useful. Want to know the square footage of a building? Find it here. Better yet, look at neighborhood patterns and structures; see where taller buildings stretch more floor area into the same footprint as their neighbors.

Edifice2

Check out demolitions flaming up entire neighborhoods; dig into code violations and the dollars being poured into new construction. I’ve only been to Chicago twice, but I could spend afternoons on this map.

Edifice_demos

Beauty, utility, pizazz. This makes me want to move to Chicago just to dissect its streets from the ground – winters and my shivering constitution be damned.

